Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Patriot
2,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long story short.(well kinda) My M77 25-06 no longer likes H4831 with all but one of the bullets I've been using for a few decades. The last bullet that it gives good accuracy with is the 120gr. partition. It must have erosion ahead of the chamber. The partition is a good hunting load but I like to shoot 100-500yd. targets for fun. I need a cheaper bullet to throw down range. Plain old Win.120gr.P.E.P. factory loads still shoot good. My thinking is factory loads probably use faster powders than H4831?
So,has anyone tried H4350, IMR4350 or Accurate 4350 in the 25-06? Or do you know of another powder to try that's faster than H4831 that may work?
My barrel is probably near or at the end of its life but the rifle still looks brand new. As you may have guessed,I shoot a lot and hunt a little. Hogs mostly these days.
Ruger no longer offers any bolt rifles in 25-06. I like the M77 tang safety so I may look into re-barreling (if cost effective) when all else fails.
O.K. Very very long story shortened as best I could. Thanks for reading if you made it this far.:dizzy:

·
Premium Member
2,733 Posts
I will preface this by extolling my complete lack of practical experience with that cartridge.

Going by Mr. Lee's "2nd Edition", H4350 is a little bit faster. Varget and H4895 do have listed loadings. Vihtavuori N160 looks useful, and Powder Valley has had it in stock lately. I have been impressed with the Vihtavuori line of powders, for clean burning, good 'throwing', and decent groups. They are expensive though.

·
Patriot
2,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·