Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading, I have acquired a Lee single stage setup. And have been loading 115gr. fmj with imr 4756 powder 1.10" c.o.l. My gun is new only about 300 rounds through it so far no prob. (blazer brass 115 fmj).
The hogden web site said to start at 4.5gr and stop at 5.2gr with the imr.
I tried 4.5-4.8-5.2 no cycle. its a great single shot though ha ha. just want some sage advice (it did cycle one round out of ten with the 5.2gr) before I exceed the max load?

·
Banned
12,933 Posts
I guess I would ask..
What is happening ? Not cycling can be caused my many things not working properly.
Is the fired round ejecting, sticking in chamber?
Is next round jamming going into battery?
is next round even being picked up ?etc,etc,

Can you describe your failure to cycle a little better?

BTW, I encourage you to go to Introductions, introduce yourself , tell us a little about yourself.
Thats traditionaly whats done.

Thanks for joining us and welcome.

Jim

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My name is Jesse, I live in ogden Utah. I own my own hearing aid business, I volunteer ski patrol on the weekends.

Back to the gun. it fires a round, but does not load the next one. The spent case is still in the chamber but not stuck. It does move the rail back far enough to re cock the striker though. I've checked the spent brass in the barrel and they are not tight. If I place a loade mag and hand cycle the rail it ejects and loads smooth.

·
Banned
12,933 Posts
Im not a gunsmith, but its hard to diagnose ,with seeing it.

Jim

·
Registered
120 Posts
Jesse,
Have you fired your gun with factory ammo? If so did the factory ammo feed, fire and eject properly. If factory ammo works, we need to look at the reloads. If factory ammo fails to feed, fire and eject , it could be the firearm. The spent case remaining in the chamber sort of hints at an extraction problem.