SR1911 aftermarket sights

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Black7Series, Jul 28, 2016.

1. Black7Series

Black7Series New Member

For those of you who have purchased aftermarket sights for your 1911 and it shoots STRAIGHT without modification, what sight heights did you order? Mine has been shooting a bit low for me and a friend and I'd like to correct it while switching to night sights.

There are like 6 or 7 height options to choose from and I'm stuck.

2. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Hello Black7sreies,

Welcome to RugerTalk,

Thanks for joining,

Maybe you could tell us a little about yourself, and hopefully someone here can help you with the question you have about 1911 sight heights,

I did move your first post from the Rimfire section to our Introductions section.

Jim

3. Black7Series

Black7Series New Member

About me, for starters, I'm a newbie here. I was looking for a kimber but the sr1911 caught my eye and I "pulled the trigger" lol. I couldn't be happier with it. I'm 21, big time car guy, and I just started my job doing security a little over a month ago.

4. buster40c

buster40c Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum. I think Tommy might be able to give you some info on the sights.

5. MagBlackhawk

MagBlackhawk Patriot

Welcome from Texas.

If you don't get an answer here CS at Ruger might be able to answer your questions about different sight heights.

6. Black7Series

Black7Series New Member

I messaged ruger around the time when I purchased my SR and they said that they didn't have any information on the heights and to email novak directly. I did and I don't think I ever got a reply.
    I think ill just order them tall and have my gunsmith file as needed.

7. MagBlackhawk

MagBlackhawk Patriot

Well, I have a strange idea..... Molding clay.

After you shoot a group, measure the distance they go low from your point of aim.