Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
I just bought a used Ruger sr 1911 and I'm new to Ruger and the 1911 how do you tell which model I have? It's a full size . I've seen people talk about the commander , lite weight commander. Any help would be good

·
Banned
12,933 Posts
midnighter,
I moved your FIRST post to Introductions, so you can get a proper welcome.
Maybe you would tell us a little about yourself.

Thanks for joining RT.

Jim

·
Tommycourt
2,139 Posts
Midnighter,
The full size SR1911 has a 6" barrel. The commander has a 4 1/2" barrel and so does the LW commander. However the LW commander is steel slide assy and the bottom half is made out of aluminum and about 8 ounces lighter. The bottom part of the LW Commander is also black whereas the Commander and full size is totally stainless.

Tommy

·
Registered
1,091 Posts
Midnighter,
The full size SR1911 has a 6" barrel. The commander has a 4 1/2" barrel and so does the LW commander. However the LW commander is steel slide assy and the bottom half is made out of aluminum and about 8 ounces lighter. The bottom part of the LW Commander is also black whereas the Commander and full size is totally stainless.

Tommy

Barrels are 5" on the full size, 4 1/4" on the Commanders.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Welcome from Texas!
Can't help you with your 1911 question, but looks like you got what you needed already anyway.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Welcome!
I like all 6 models of the SR1911 (got to include the TALO versions), and when I started to search, I had honed in on the full stainless Commander- I like all stainless, but I don't like a 5" barrel.