Shooting Rest - Good • Bad • Ugly • $$$$$

Discussion in 'Ruger Rifle Forum' started by rjtmac, Feb 10, 2014.

1. rjtmac

rjtmac Texan by Birth • Grace

I am needing - oh, let me rephrase - I am wanting to purchase a shooting rest.

I have looked long and hard from the "Cheaper" solutions to the "Expensive" solutions. I know the answer probably resides somewhere between.

I have no knowledge or benchmark on which to base a decision. I was hoping to get some insight from the experts and experienced on the forum.

I have 6 rifles at this time with one more on the way. At this time I have 5 new scopes on 5 rifles and have moved an older scope to a different rifle.

I was wanting something to aide with initial scope sight ins and something to have to have for subsequent sight ins and just occasional shooting.

I really don't know what I want as far as features or what I require. I am not looking to spend my life savings on this item but do want one that will be a solid piece of equipment over the long haul.

Is there any one or several brands to absolutely avoid ?

:dizzy: Help …. :dizzy:

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

2. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

3. SWO1

SWO1 New Member

Right on rjtmac about the price spread ..... $29.95 to $999.95+

For your stated uses look at Caldwell rests. Good quality (except the bags) and a good range of models. From around $25 to $400 depending on your requirements.