Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Patriot
2,160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ever try shooting while moving?
Not going from station to station but firing while in motion.
Walking forward, moving to the side or in any other direction. Not nearly so easy as Hollywood makes it look.

The first few times I tried it I couldn't hit nutten. Then I figured out, keep your knees bent at all times and work on being as smooth as possible.
Seems to help if you place your heel down first with each step. When moving to the side place the outside (knife edge) of your foot down first.
You know you're getting it when your sights don't bounce all over the place.
Even though I've been shooting for many years, shooting on the move is kinda new to me. And I haven't even tried it with a long gun yet.

Anyone have some helpful information you'd like to share?

·
Banned
12,933 Posts
You are right, it is much harder than it looks on tv.

I could , for a while, back a few years, hit a full size silhouette , while moving forward and straight backward. Dint do so good moving sideways.

Now with all my body aches and pains, I don't even try anymore,
Havent practiced it in a couple years.

But it wasn't an aim and shoot,
It was a point and shoot thing, it worked good enough..;):)

Jim

·
Premium Member
2,733 Posts
Probably like a lot of other endeavors, the body and the brain get the hang of it with practice. Maybe 'laser training' would be good, for starters anyway. Personally, I am getting pretty good at UNlearning. Already the old bod has forgot how to run, and the brain can't handle getting the coffee brewing while figuring what to get for breakfast. Have to do the one, and then the other.

·
Registered
8,549 Posts