Shooting lead through your Alaskan?

Discussion in 'Ruger Revolver Forums' started by icallshotgun88, May 31, 2015.

1. icallshotgun88

icallshotgun88 New Member

New to the forum.
    I'm sure there's plenty of info on here about pros and cons of shooting lead, but somewhere I heard that it really depends on the firearm, it's type of rifling, etc.

I'm interested in learning more about shooting lead out of a Ruger Alaskan (or similar firearms).

It seems that in the world of semi-auto pistols, shooting lead is almost unheard of and I've only heard negative things about it.

I'm brand new to revolvers and brand new to Ruger, but it seems normal for owners of the Alaskan to carry and shoot hard cast lead bullets from manufacturers such as Buffalo Bore, HSM, etc.

What are the pros and cons of using lead ammo through this firearm?

2. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

I shoot lead cast bullets in all my Revolvers (except the 460 mag) with no problems.

All hand loads ,using Missouri Bullet Co bullets.

Jim

3. MagBlackhawk

MagBlackhawk Patriot

The only hard cast lead bullets I have used in my 44 Mag have gas checks on the base of the bullet. I hand load them at top velocity and get very little leading in the barrel. Not sure if the brands you mentioned have gas checks, or if it even matters.

In the 357 Mag I use Hunters Supply brand hard cast without a gas check. These will lead the barrel a little. I use them for mild plinking loads.

I've read that in order to avoid barrel leading you need to remove all jacket fouling before shooting lead bullets. I can't prove that because I mostly shoot jacketed bullets and have never been able to get all of the jacket fouling out.

Pros, massive penetration.
    Cons, may need to spend a little time cleaning.

A good place for info about cast lead bullets: www.castbulletassoc.org