Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to pistols. Just got the security 9. I eventually want to get my ccw permit. I don't want appendix carry. Hesitant about back carry.
What's a good holster that balances not losing the gun (falling out- no back flips for me) and draw?

·
Registered
685 Posts
Hard to pick a holster for somebody. Everybody likes different. I prefer a pancake style outside the waist band holster for everyday carry. The same style holster but designed for tuckable inside the waistband carry when situations dictate. I usually buy one from MTR Custom Leather that can convert from IWB to OWB. Plus a couple more, one dedicated to OWB carry, and a second for dedicated IWB. All my holsters sport a sweat shield. None use a thumb strap, but instead are fitted to the individual pistol or revolver. A good fitted holster will give good retention, it will not come out unless you pull it out. Finally my holsters have a reinforced mouth.

Mattress, shoes, holster and belt. Buy the best you can afford. Skimp elsewhere if you must. The belt, BTW, is an important part of the holster, get a good reinforced carry belt with a stiffener. It will make all the difference in the world to you.

·
Premium Member
346 Posts
I agree with greg_r, it is difficult to help others select a holster as we all have different styles and preferences.

I have several different leather holsters which I find comfortable and secure but when I purchased my SR9e, I decided to go with an IWB Kydex holster. I checked out different styles at the nearby gun stores and local gun shows and after many hours of online research, I decided to go with a Vedder LightTuck and I couldn't be more pleased.
Vedder #03.JPG

Good luck in your search for a holster.

·
Registered
324 Posts
I carry mine in a leather OWB rig by Bianchi. Mine is for the Glock 19/23, but it fits just about any Glock, and my Security 9 just fine.

·
Registered
685 Posts