Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In my searches I have run across guns without safety switches. Being that I am a newbie, I am not sure if I should even consider buying a gun with no safety. But on the other hand, some say it is just handicap when trying to defend yourself under stress. Still others say that to have a gun with no safety is to be negligent and endangering to yourself and others. I know that a safety is not to be 100% reliable since it is a mechanical stop and could fail. Thoughts anyone?

·
Registered
8,549 Posts
I have no problem with a cc gun having a safety. Personally I don't like carrying a 1911 cocked, locked and loaded relying on the safety not getting knocked out of safe position and blowing a hole in my leg.
If a person practices with a carry gun always with the safety on then their mind should cause first move to be taking gun safety off.
This discussion is exactly why I chose to carry a double action only revolver for my carry gun. No safety to take off and no hair trigger to be concerned about.

This discussion is one of those never ending debates. To each his own as to what he feels comfortable with.

·
Registered
279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So since you brought up the revolver, is capacity or lack thereof a concern when considering revolvers. People seem to point that fact out and pull to the semi autos all the time. I know, all the statistics about gunfights being mostly one on one and in the space of a living room blah blah blah but how disconcerting is it for you to know you only have 4-6 shots available (judging by the capacity of most wheel guns. I personally kinda like the wheel guns because of the factors you mentioned. Add to that the history and quintessential American west feeling and appearance. But I was turned off of them by the "Capacity preachers"

·
AKA Rawhidekid!
1,868 Posts