Quality 22lr ammo

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by conservative, Aug 25, 2016.

1. conservative

conservative New Member

I am trying to do my homework before purchasing a gun . Since I am a newbie to the world of firearms having never shot any gun before I am heavily considering purchasing a gun chambered in 22lr. I was wondering what a quality ammo for defensive use. I know I can use cheap stuff for practice, but need to know what else I can use . Any brands or psecifications such as grain count?

2. spikedriver

spikedriver Active Member

This is my personal opinion, not a hard fact, but I don't think it matters too much which .22 ammo you use - just so long as it goes bang when you press the trigger. The .22 long rifle cartridge is not very powerful and it won't make the big, nasty, disabling injuries that 9mm or .357 mag can make. That said, more than a few people get killed by the .22 every year so it's not useless. Some guns will not shoot certain kinds of .22 ammo reliably. The only way to know if a gun will be reliable with a particular kind of ammo is to shoot a couple hundred rounds of that kind through the gun. Winchester SuperX, and CCI MiniMag, have good reputations for quality and would be a good starting point.

3. SavageGuy

SavageGuy Active Member

^^I'd agree. If I had to pick one brand of .22 for defense, I'd go with CCI. I've never had a problem with them. Good stuff!

Carl Crosby likes this.
  4. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

ELEY TeneX...when only the best will do !!

2016 Olympics

Petar Gorsa win his second .22 Medal at the last World Cup before Rio with Selection ELEY tenex

http://www.eley.co.uk/

Nuff said...

5. Tommycourt

Tommycourt Tommycourt