Newbie introduction

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DYSMAN78, Jul 20, 2018.

1. DYSMAN78

DYSMAN78 New Member

Hey folks. glad to join my fellow Ruger enthusiasts. My first rifle and first handgun were both Rugers. Have bought a few more since then and am leaning towards focusing on Ruger Revolvers in the near future. Joined to get some ideas and discuss various makes/models.

rugertoter likes this.
  2. LT2108

LT2108 Administrator Staff Member Administrator

Welcome to the forum

DYSMAN78 likes this.

3. quirky

quirky Active Member

Hello DYSMAN, newbie here myself. It's a nice little forum here, somewhat quiet but I like that.
    Well, hard to go wrong with a revolver, I myself go back in forth but always end up back with my trusty LCR mainly because the trigger is so good out of the box and I feel confident with it. I've own two so far, the .38 special and the .357 magnum versions and may be getting the 9mm version.

I once own three S&W 642's but could not shoot them one handed because the triggers were so bad on them. And I'm not about to spend another $150 dollars or so to get them shootable and still won't come near how good the LCR is out of the box.

Very few I have ever heard shoot a snubby like I do, the old saying about "carry often shoot little" doesn't apply to me, my carry snubby is also my range toy.
    Ruger must have figured there 'd be a few odd balls like us out here. Because the LCR is built to take it as well.

I called customer service up yesterday because I could not see anything in the manual about shooting +P in 9mm in LCR and spoke to a nice woman called Bonnie. She wasn't really sure and put me hold and then came back on and said the engineer told her shoot to your hearts content.

I told her I probably would never shoot +P but that it was good to know out of curiosity.
    +P 9mm is rated at 38,500 chamber pressure, that's 3,500 more than .357 magnum is rated at.
    What does that tell you, it's built good.