New to loading 38 spl

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by buster40c, May 3, 2016.

1. buster40c

buster40c Well-Known Member

I am new to this reloading experience and I wonder what you experienced reloaders think.
    I am using 38 spl cleaned brass. CCI small primers and Hodgdon Clays powder. Rainier Ballistics 38cal/125FP bullets. Rainier says use load data for lead bullets or full plated bullets.
    In my Lee book the data says 125 gr lead bullet under Clays powder says start load is 2.5/max load is 3.5. Data says use Lee powder disc at .37.
    What do you all think, would I be okay starting out using the 2.5/.37 disc load?
    Yeah I am still reading the Lee 2nd edition book. I really want to get the powder charging at correct measures. Geeze there is a lot to learn.

2. VThillman

VThillman Active Member

Lee is probably using Hodgdon data (they don't do their own testing). Must be they measure the volume of a recommended load, and see if they have a disc that matches it.

3. Tommycourt

Tommycourt Tommycourt

Buster,