New LCR 9MM Revolver Seized cases

Discussion in 'Ruger Revolver Forums' started by kawa, Aug 4, 2015.

1. kawa

kawa New Member

I just picked up my new LCR 9MM and was putting an array of different types/brands of ammo through it when I loaded it with "WPA" Steel cased and after firing the 5 rounds I found that the cases were stuck in the cylinder.

With the aid of a wooden dowel and a small hammer I was able to tap them along with the moon clip free.

Having said the above I do understand that this is NOT a target pistol and I probably won't be running thousands of rounds through it but the seizure has me concerned.

I have mic'ed the steel cases before and after firing as well as brass cases and found nothing of significance.

Anyone have any ideas???

Thanks in advance,
    Rog :confused:

2. spikedriver

spikedriver Active Member

I'm no expert so I could be full of crap, but I do know that brass is "slicker" than steel and that's why it has that polymer coat on it to make it slide easier. That could at least part of it. I don't shoot steel case ammo in anything anymore because I got terrible headspace problems in my AR with steel. Not sure why.

3. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

The only thing I shoot steel cases in, is guns made for it,
    AK 47, SKS, Makarov, Tokarev.

Steel casing dont expand and contract , or flex and give , the way brass does,

Jim

4. berettabone

berettabone In the army now..

The kind of thing that can happen when you try and save a couple of bucks...............................................

5. VThillman

VThillman Active Member

I'm thinking that maybe the steel expands OK, but doesn't shrink as much afterwards - and/or - the cases are coated? I've read about problems with those... . In a revolver, there is no 'extract' element in the firing cycle.

6. buster40c

buster40c Well-Known Member