Need Rifle Advice!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Daagak, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Daagak

Daagak New Member

Hey guys, first off, new to the forum! Though not why im posting haha

Also a bit new to the rifle world and since its the only type of firearm that im missing, i have no choice but to buy onehaha

Now i hope that what im asking is not like asking: Would you rather have a pizza or a bike?

So here it is: Im between a Ruger American Rifle and a 10/22 either the takedown or the regular... which is better? Mostly in terms of range, as SHTF, and very important, more costumizable?

Thanks for the imput!

2. SavageGuy

SavageGuy Active Member

First off, welcome to RugerTalk! :welcome:

For the American, are you talking about the rimfire version? I have the American in .308 and highly recommend it although I have no experience with the rimfire version.

The 10/22 is semiautomatic, which is a blessing but can also be problematic with .22 ammo. The 10/22 does have a reputation of being a very solid .22 rifle. It's also one of (if not the most) popular 22 platform ever. It is also VERY customizable. It also comes at an appealing price.
    Hope this helps and enjoy the forum!

3. Daagak

Daagak New Member

Ohh i didn't specify sorry haha i would get the American in .223

4. Daagak

Daagak New Member

And Thanks for the welcome! :D

5. Pancho_Villa

Pancho_Villa Well-Known Member

Ya got me kinda confused also. Your are comparing a bolt action rifle in .223 to a much less powerful .22 LR semi-quto. Do you inted to do some varmint hunting with the .223? If so, how far? Not that ya can't hunt varmints with a .22 LR. Your range will definetely be limited with a .22 as compared to a .223.