Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1st post!

Sorry if this is a 'redundant' question but...
I did search but I guess I am not good at and could not find the answer.

Gun is a Rugger 10/22.

I want to shoot the smallest groups possible at 100 yards(I know it is 'kind of' individual gun dependent) .

What ammo would you best recommendation to start with(I would really like something that's not to expensive)?

·
Banned
12,933 Posts
Ok, your not gonna hold tight groups, or very good groups at all with inexpensive .22lr ammo. The quality control just aint there.

Keeping tight groups, (1 1/2" size or less) at 100 yards is not easy with a 36 grn or 40 grn bullet in .22LR. Easier with .22 magnum.

I love trying to do just that. I have a Savage FVSR .22lr bolt action , just for bench shooting at 100 yrds, and EVERYTHING ( wind, temp,humidity, cold barrel, hot barrel, clean bore, dirty bore, too much coffe, too little coffee) will affect the little bullet.

You will do best with SK, Lapua, or Wolf match grade high quality ammo.
It aint cheap.

I shoot cheap bulk ammo for fun, and it will do 3-4 "groups(maybe) with flyers out to 8" at 100 yrds.

My best groups (1"and less ) have been Using SK match rifle grade.

Good luck, have fun.

Jim

·
Registered
8,549 Posts
Think of it this way........if at 100 yards you could keep your shots in a 4" paper plate then any critter would be a goner.
I buy cheap ammo for all my guns so I can blame my pee poor shooting on the ammo and not my jittery hands.

·
Registered
246 Posts