Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8,549 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I decided to get the SR40C out of moth balls again. I had a problem this time and was surprised because I have never had any malfunction with this gun.
Late Saturday evening I shot maybe 15 rounds and I had two misfires. I looked at the primers and it appeared both had light strikes. I reloaded the same rounds two more times before they fired off. I couldn't find those two rounds to check the primers again. I quit for the night.
Sunday I decided try it again. I believe it was my first mag load and I had two misfires again. I thought what the heck is going on. The next time using those same rounds they fired off. I didn't have any problem with anymore of the 75 rounds I shot.
The ammo was Winchester 40 S&W 165 grain FMJ target white box 100 ct.
The gun was clean when I started shooting as I had cleaned it before putting back into the safe. The gun stays in the plastic Ruger box it came in. I have not noticed any rust or corrosion of any kind on the gun.
Could the firing pin channel have had some debris gummed up at first causing the light strikes? Like I said it didn't misfire for the next 70 rounds I shot. I don't oil the firing pin channel. I do dry fire this gun since Ruger says it doesn't hurt the gun.
After shooting I cleaned the gun again and it surprised me it really wasn't dirty after shooting almost 100 rounds. This ammo shoots pretty clean IMO. I guess I will have to shoot another box and see what happens. One thing I really liked about this gun is it never malfunctioned. Perhaps it was a gummy fire pin channel caused it. It had been many months since I last shot it. Maybe the 4 rounds had bad primers?
Here's keeping my fingers crossed it doesn't happen again. Misfires are not acceptable to me.

·
Registered
57 Posts