Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Well, I have zero experience with the Max 9, but a good amount with micro red dots. The Holosun 407K/507K would be my pick for the footprint the Max 9 uses. The Swampfox optics are garbage. Shield dots are expensive and not durable enough for me to want to use on a carry gun. I have seen and had problems with Shield dots. The Holosuns have good battery life, I like having the ability to manually adjust the brightness setting, you do not have to remove and then re-zero the optic to change the battery, they won't cost you an arm and a leg, and I haven't broken a Holosun micro-dot yet.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I have zero experience with the Max 9, but a good amount with micro red dots. The Holosun 407K/507K would be my pick for the footprint the Max 9 uses. The Swampfox optics are garbage. Shield dots are expensive and not durable enough for me to want to use on a carry gun. I have seen and had problems with Shield dots. The Holosuns have good battery life, I like having the ability to manually adjust the brightness setting, you do not have to remove and then re-zero the optic to change the battery, they won't cost you an arm and a leg, and I haven't broken a Holosun micro-dot yet.

Hope that helps.
That’s kinda what I’ve been reading and my local gun store has been pushing the 507K. Let me ask this, is the HE507k green dot the same footprint?

·
Registered
214 Posts