Hello again!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by greg_r, Aug 11, 2018.

1. greg_r

greg_r Well-Known Member

Been a member here a while, just not very active. The forum was pretty active when I joined, but sort of died away. There is starting to be more traffic and new members and I thought maybe I would introduce myself again.

My interest in firearms started young, I can't ever remember not being around them. My grandfather was a watchmaker and a gunsmith. Unfortunately I was early in my second decade of life when he passed, but I had been taught, mostly on air guns, how to keep them running.

I spent my school years running trot lines in the summer, along with mowing yards, and running trap lines in the winter. Shot rats at the FCX for bounty and crows for the farmers. My desire was to become a game warden. After I graduated high school I joined the USMC as aareservist. Went to Parris Island then to Twenty-Nine Palms CA where I was trained in electronics. After schooling I was sent to my Reserve unit, where because I was one of the two top shooters in my unit, I was cross trained as a marksmanship instructor and armorer. Which rekindled my interest in working on firearms.

I was lucky enough to be there when you could buy milsurps at the big box stores out of a barrel in the sporting goods department for $50 to $70. When I turned 21 I bought my first personal handgun, a H&R. Which led to the purchase of an H&R Shikari. This led to a collection of H&R and NEF rifles, shotguns, and handguns. I always liked the Ruger firearms though. Acquired a MKII, Old Army, and a Mini 14, which were my only Rugers for a long time.