GP100 going back to Ruger...again.

Discussion in 'Ruger Revolver Forums' started by Tchristi1, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Tchristi1

Tchristi1 New Member

I bought my GP100 last December. I had to send it to Ruger within 2 weeks because the cylinder suddenly stopped rotating while firing. I couldn't even pull the trigger back more than 1/2 way.

They returned it with a note that the ejector rod was replaced. I fired it many times without issue from winter through springtime at the range, and then put it in the safe for a couple of months.

Today while at the range, after firing about 75 rounds (.38 and .357) it jammed up again. The same exact issue as the first time around.

Something is happening as the barrel and cylinder heat up. There is obviously an unacceptable degree of expansion that is literally locking up the cylinder.

I'm no expert, but this is kind of ridiculous. I have 4 S&W revolvers, and have never had an issue with any of them. I bought the Ruger after a lot of research, and tons of positive reviews and opinions. And I totally agree it's built like a tank. But....

I see a lot of other posts on other forums regarding this issue. It's not just with my gun.

I am hoping Ruger does the right thing and gives me a new one. I now have zero confidence with this one. And that's a bad thing for sure.

Does anyone have an answer as to what is causing this?

2. greg_r

greg_r Well-Known Member

Could be lots of things. Bent ejector rod, ejector rod worked loose, high primer. Squib and you have a bullet jammed in the forcing cone, crimp jump, tight end play and the revolver is just dirty.

Hard to say without looking at the revolver.

I just unjammed an N frame S&W whose ejector rod unscrewed, I have cleared a Charter Arms jammed with a squib. A Taurus M85 jammed because of crimp jump. A S&W J frame jammed with powder flakes under the ejection star.