Don't know what to do.

Discussion in 'Ruger Rifle Forum' started by Andyman85, Jul 26, 2014.

1. Andyman85

Andyman85 New Member

I'm fairly new to rifles and not sure about scope rings or scopes. I Got an Ruger American in 308 and don't know if this scope is decent. I like nikon because I have one for my 10/22(3x9). Do I need something better than this nikon? What scope rings would you guys go with?)low. Med. High. And what brand? Thanks for helping out a newbie.

Attached Files:

2. Andyman85

Andyman85 New Member

Or this scope

Attached Files:

3. 00b5

00b5 Member

I went with the Nikon M-308 BDC for my Ruger Scout. No problems with it so far! As far as low, medium, or high mounts, that is a personal choice to get the "fit."

4. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Either one will work fine on your Ruger American.
    A lot depends on type of shooting and how far your wnting to shoot.

With a 40 MM objective , your probably gonna need, at minimum, ,medium rings, to give clearance for objective to barrel. Its best to keep the scope as close to the barrel and reciever as possible, not sitting up in the air more than necessary. Too high and you may have trouble achieving a good cheek weld. But , then you loose the see thru ability. I dont think the American has sights though.

There are many style and types of mounts ,and rings. Again , the type of shooting your planning will determine this also.

What are you planinng ? hunting only, plinking, long distance target, some competition, just range fun short distance (100 yrds and under)??

btw, Nikon is underated IMHO, I have several mounted , and I like them.
    As matter of fact, I have a Nikon 3x9x40 BDC on one of my .308s, its great for me tohunt ot target shoot out to 200-300 yards.

Jim

5. Andyman85

Andyman85 New Member

I was going to use it for plinking, longe rage. And eventually hunting. 100 yards to 200 yards is my goal

6. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter