Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since getting out of the military I found that getting some good practice in on a regular basis to be a little more difficult than it was when I was getting paid to shoot. I have some previous experience in marksmanship based shooting competitions and some fun stuff like cowboy action shooting and cowboy action fast draw, but recently I have really found the benefit in multi-gun (mostly 2 gun) and practical rifle matches as a way to get some valuable practice. Out here in AZ there are matches running every weekend with one club or another.

Anyone else on here shoot much competition?

·
Registered
685 Posts
I shoot competition here locally as much as possible.

My first competition was egg shoots. Sitll donthem but use golf balls now.

Then I got into bowling pins and plates. I particularly like pin top matches with the .22.

One of the local ranges here put on a cowboy action shoot several times a year. Tons of fun, but I'm not so good at it. Those folk are fast with a lever gun! The same range has sporting clays which I very much enjoy.

And my brothers church has an informal shoot every month. Pins, 2-gun, 3-gun, clays, even 3D archery.

·
Registered
8,549 Posts
I have a question. Is a lot of western style competition shooting performed by point n shoot?

I was watching an old western and Fonda was teaching a youngster about drawing a gun from a holster. He said as you go for your gun your first move as your hand goes to the gun is to be cocking the hammer so when the gun is fully drawn you only have to pull the trigger. He said if you don't do that then you will probably lose the draw. I notice that most shooting seemed to be point n shoot, especially in a draw situation.
I have been practicing PNS with my laser pistol and it surprised me how often I was right on a 4" target.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Maybe that's why I always lose!