Ruger Talk Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All
I am very new to AR's but not Ruger firearms. Was looking at getting a AR556 model 8500. My question is this, when i am not using 5.56 ammo I would like the opportunity of using .22lr by way of a conversion bolt kit. Is it possible?

·
Registered
287 Posts
My question is this, when i am not using 5.56 ammo I would like the opportunity of using .22lr by way of a conversion bolt kit. Is it possible?
Custom built perhaps, don't forget you'll need another barrel, mag well etc. By that time you could of bought another gun or two. I get why you want to do it, can't blame you as they are sticking it to us good out out here on ammo prices. Even .22 ain't what it used to be and I doubt when this deal blows over we will ever see pre pandemic prices again.

Look for a .22 AR chambering and if you ever have to use it in a defensive role spray and pray towards the head area.
Good luck to ya.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Sure it's possible to convert any AR rifle to .22LR with a conversion bolt kit, but your accuracy will suffer, e.g., the rifling twist in the Ruger AR-556 barrel is 1:8, which is probably about the most versatile rate for most common 5.56 projectiles out of a 16" barrel, whereas for stabilizing common .22LR ammo it's pretty much standardized at 1:16. This means that shooting .22LR out of the AR's 1:8 rifling twist barrel will over stabilize the .22 projectile, and depending on how much .22LR shooting you do, you may eventually clog the AR barrel's gas port with lead particles which could hamper the operation of the rifle when you get back to shooting 5.56...