Anyone have the new LCP custom?

Discussion in 'Ruger Center Fire Pistols' started by jamain, Apr 22, 2015.

1. jamain

jamain New Member

HI Guys

I just wanted to know who has the new lcp custom and how do you like it?
    im new to Ruger as im a S&W fan I bought a Taurus tcp before Christmas what a big mistake that was I will never own another one so I was looking to
    getting a S&W bodyguard. then yesterday I get a book in the mail with the new lcp custom in it I liked what I seen so im going to be buying one soon.
    just wanted a little input on this pistol

Thank you
    Jeff US ARMY VET;)

2. Iowalefty

Iowalefty New Member

I will be interested in the responses as well. I have been looking at these myself.

3. nickndfl

nickndfl Active Member

The trigger is improved over the standard LCP. Overall, the LCP has only size in its favor. I own one, but classify it for what is was designed for. Up close personal defense or deep CCW. Even with an "improved" trigger do not expect it to magically turn into a range pistol with the short barrel.

PSA recently had new, non-custom 2nd gen LCPs on sale for $200 + S&H. A bargain. They also had LC9s for $260 delivered, a better value. The LCP is the second smallest gun I have ever owned or shot. It is not inspirational. If you know that before purchasing, then your expectations will be met. I carry my LCP in a gym bag wherever I go.

The customs can be purchased for around $275-$295. I would not pay more or get too impulsive to buy one.

Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
  4. threetango

threetango Special Dance Instructor

I have the regular Elsie Pea and use an Uncle George wallet type holster with it.
    Here's a video on the LCP Custom.

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mua6vY1dyak[/ame]

5. nickndfl

nickndfl Active Member

It looks better in the video. It's not a bad gun and I would probably never sell mine, but I have several others I prefer more overall.

6. jamain

jamain New Member