Anybody into Thompson Center?

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by phideaux, May 12, 2016.

1. phideaux

phideaux Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

I been wanting , looking at, eyeballing a Thompson Center Encore -system for a long time, MANY guns , one trigger /receiver,

but never found a good used one local,

Until yesterday.

Local Pawnshop/LGS has a Stainless Encore with 2 barrels,
    a 50 cal ML , and a 300 Win Mag barrel,

Looks good in pic,
    [​IMG]

Is $500 a decent price?

Seems about right.

Jim[​IMG]

2. squirrelhunter

squirrelhunter Active Member Lifetime Supporter

Yeah it is a good price,I've been using a G2 Contender for about 15-20 years now and the barrels alone are over $300 new last I heard,don't recall what the new frames are going for now days.

3. phideaux

Does anybody know if I can take that Encore frame and use a Pistol grip, and pistol barrels on it?

I think I can but not sure.

If I can, that means I could sell every gun I own and just replace them all with barrels...:cheesy:

Jim

4. spikedriver

spikedriver Active Member

Don't know about the Encore. I do know that some of the old fox hunters round here used to use T/C pistols in .223. Said it was easy to keep loaded in the truck, ready for action. As far as the Encore goes, the only thing I've heard is they're not accurate enough for varmint hunting but fine for deer and the like. I've never shot one.

5. greg_r

greg_r Well-Known Member

Jim, I really like the T/C. Not the Encore so much as the Contender. I think they are beautiful guns in the walnut/blues configuration. A gun store near here has the Contender G2 frame for $268. One of the features I liked about the Contender is the ability to switch from handgun to rifle. I never owned one but shot several when I frequented IHSMA shoots.