American .270

Discussion in 'Ruger Rifle Forum' started by RugerShooter26, Sep 14, 2014.

1. RugerShooter26

RugerShooter26 New Member

Any Ruger American chambered in .270 owners have any ammo recommendations? Picking one up Friday and just wanted to see what you all have for me as to insight on what ammo is good/bad. I have a box of Winchester AccuBond 140gr. But have no clue how shes gunna react to it. Thanks

2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

Welcome to the R/T !!

Can't offer any ammo choices for the .270...sorry !

3. Pancho_Villa

Pancho_Villa Well-Known Member

First "bigger" bore rifle I got was a Ruger M77 in .270. I have had it since 1976. If you are considering using it for white tail deer or similar size game 140s are about right. I started shooting with factory stiff in 150 and up. It was just too much recoil and what I tought was overkill. Well, that was my opinion. Later I started handloadading, ostly cause you could not find any ammo back then in less than 150 gr. As I progressed with my handloading experience, I found that the 130-140 gr. loads were more than adequate for that purpose. I now have rifles in calibers like the 7mm-08 that use that weight of bullet at moderate velocities and dfo just as well without all the extra blast from the longer case