.220 swift

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by redmist3455, Feb 6, 2014.

1. redmist3455

redmist3455 New Member

Recently got a Ruger M77 in .220 swift. I'm new to this caliber. Can anyone tell me about it?

Last edited: Feb 22, 2014
  2. DoubleR

DoubleR Active Member

We have a 220 Swift and will NEVER sell it.
    We mainly use it for varmints but had an occasion during a hunting season that we were hunting coyotes and a big buck walked by. The 220 Swift took down a big buck no problem. Funniest part of that deal was I had just surprised my hubby with a new deer rifle for that deer season but because he was coyote hunting he didn't have it available.
    What are you thinking of doing with it?

3. CallMaker

CallMaker Guest

Great caliber the .220 Swift. I had one for a number of years on a Springfield action. Sudden death on coyotes and the like. Sadly it was stolen and never recovered.

Have fun with that new rifle.

4. DoubleR

DoubleR Active Member

Very sudden! You should see what it does to rabbits and ground squirrels! Lol!
    I'm sorry for your loss! I would be more than upset if ours was stolen! :(

5. redmist3455

redmist3455 New Member

I'm looking to do some competition shooting with it. I will probably do some coyote hunting with it too. Where I live, coyotes are a real problem. They kill people's cats, eat their trash, and have even attacked people. One of my neighbors had one break into her house. It killed her chihuahua. My sister had one attack her cat. So I will most likely be putting some lead into those things.

6. DoubleR

DoubleR Active Member

Wow! That's not good! Glad you'll be able to make a dent in the problem!
    Have fun with it. It's a great round.

7. redmist3455

redmist3455 New Member

What's the running cost of .220 swift right now? I got a box of 100 rounds with the rifle for free(the gun was a gift from my uncle and he reloaded the ammo for me).

8. DoubleR

DoubleR Active Member