10/22 Take-Down Stove Pipes

Discussion in 'Ruger Rifle Forum' started by Piecrust, Oct 20, 2013.

1. Piecrust

Piecrust New Member

Hey guys. First off I would like to say that I am new to the 10/22. I have had it for a few months now, the gun would run great with any ammo, but only recently has it started giving me problems. My main problem is stove piping. It has been having 3-4 stove pipes per magazine. It sounds like this is pretty common with 10/22s. I have been looking online on how to fix this, the thing is though I do not know where to start. I have found info saying that I should replace the extractor, but then I have read to polish up the bolt and receiver, or that it could be that the guide rod is bent slightly. I just do not know if it one of these problems or if it is something else and I do not know where to start. Any input would be appreciated. Here is a picture of my Davidson's exclusive take-down.

Attached Files:

• 1022.jpg
      1022.jpg
      File size:
      47.7 KB
      Views:
  2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

Type of magazine and type of ammo used would help us help you...

3. Piecrust

Piecrust New Member

The magazines I have been using are the Ruger BX-1 and BX-25. The ammo was Armscor bulk hollow point and Federal Bulk lead solid. For a while, both of these worked great, no problems. But now...lots of problems, though the Armscor does still result in stove pipes, it is slightly better than the Federal.

4. SHOOTER13

And between then and now...how many rounds fired...it is one type of mag or both...with the same ammo or both...

and why do you think it is happening "all of a sudden" ?!

In other words...what changed...did you clean and lube it before the most recent problems arose...?

Ever take it down to see if there is a problem with the feed ramp...maybe a burr...?

Other modifications to the rifle...?

5. Piecrust

Piecrust New Member